I had this crazy idea!

I have one smallish writing assignment to finish my homework for the week.  Once that’s finished, I can enjoy birthday festivities.  Tomorrow, I have Christmas creations to assemble, then Sunday is my party and Monday is my actual birthday, which I will mostly celebrate at a genetics appointment at Children’s, but, that’s the way it goes.  I’m nervous, because it’s a doctor I haven’t met before; hopefully she’s ready for Lydia-birthday-excitement, the likes of which she has never seen before!

Anyhow, I’m ignoring my homework because I had a realization that might actually make some sense.  

Some people on the spectrum like patterns, right?  That’s a fact.  I always thought of that as a reference to visual or numerical patterns which, well, I like as well as the next guy, I suppose, but I can’t say I have any massive affinity for them.  I do have a fascination with connections, though, such as when I hear a new word in one context, then, a week later, hear it in an entirely different context, and, BOOM!– I envision a 3-D web beginning to form in my mind.  When I think of a concept, word, experience, etc, I immediately begin to follow the web from one point to another, pausing at all the different times and avenues by which I’ve experienced whatever thing.

Now, as an Aspie, I can be a little… different… in the conversation department.  Sometimes, others don’t follow my train of thought, and the things I say sound random.  Okay… sometimes, they are random.  But a lot of times, they’re not.  I got to thinking that connections could help me form the basis for having conversations.  If someone makes a statement about Thing A, then, when it’s my turn to speak, I can say something that has a first order connection to Thing A, as in, something that has a direct connection to it: “I read about that in this book and it said…” or “my relative was a really great whatever-er…”  But, the key is to stick to first-order connections, because second- or third-order ones (connections to connections rather than to the thing itself) wound probably sound confusing to the listener.  Random, in other words.

Having the visible map in my brain helps me to know what things I might say in a conversation.  I thought it would be an idea for teachers and parents to do with kids as sort of graphic organizers either for writing or possible conversation topics or whatever, since we tend to be visual learners.

Now it’s homework time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

