Taking a relaxing

We’ve certainly been on a journey, haven’t we?  I’ve been blogging here since just months after I graduated from college.  I didn’t know anything much about autism.  I had one friend.  I had just been faced with the fact that maybe I wouldn’t haven’t a “typical” adult life, and I was learning to deal with that.  Juxtapose that to today, when I know autism inside and out.  I have friends near and far, and even some in person!  And while I fully accept that I may not work or drive or own a house or have children, that’s not going to stop me from being the best Lydia I can be.  Yes, we’ve been on a journey.

In the beginning and for several years, blogging was my way of processing the world.  I couldn’t make sense of interactions and situations until I’d come and blogged about them.  And believe me, I still need to type in order to understand.  But, right now, I can’t really publicly type through my life.  I need to do it privately.

I’m also running into the fact that, well, I don’t know what to write about anymore.  I’m dry.  Trust me, it’s not a good feeling.

And so, I’m going to take a break from blogging and recharge my batteries.  I’ll come back when I feel ready, whenever that may be.  If something happens that I want to blog about while I’m on my break, I’ll come blog about it.  Maybe it’s not so much a full break as a… a… relaxing.  I think I’ll maintain my Autistic Speaks Facebook page, so just check in there and you’ll know if I’ve posted something.

If you need me, just email me at autisticspeaks@gmail.com.  I’m still here 🙂

7 thoughts on “Taking a relaxing

  1. Hi Lydia,
    Would you mind if I posted this entry and the link to your blog on our Toronto Adult Autistic Community website. It is so encouraging!

    Thank you for sharing your journey : )

    Bev
    (Sixty-something Aspie in Toronto, ON Canada)

  2. I hit that wall occasionally. I’m glad you gave us a heads up. In the world of the autism PARENT blogs, silence almost always means bad news. In the autistic blog community, I never like to push, because sometimes the words just aren’t coming, and I don’t ever like to make people feel guilty for not being able to express what it is they’re feeling. it adds stress (at least it does when people do it to me. . . )

    So, enjoy your time off. Feel no guilt. We’ll still be here when you get back with your ‘voice’.

Leave a Reply

