I will carry it with me

2011 was my best year ever.

It was turning a new leaf, a new page in my book.

It was staying out of the hospital for eleven months thus far.

It was one more glorious year with my Elsie P.

It was meeting my Lexie.

It was the best Christmas season ever.

It was, most notably, traveling along that path in which I found out more about myself and developed my sense of self.

It was settling in.  No upheavals, no disruptions.  It was comfortable.

So why do we have to move on to 2012?

I tell myself… self, “year” is a manmade construct.  God is outside of time, so the concept of moving from year 2011 to year 2012 is entirely an earthbound thing.

I try not to make it matter so much.

And really?  Really, it doesn’t.

Because, really, what I gained in 2011, in part through finding my sense of self, was the ability to look on the bright side of things.

Really, 2011 wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies.

Lest you need a reminder, don’t you forget that we almost lost Elsie P in 2011.

I spent the first three months in hospital programs.

Mom has not had the easiest 2011, which means that Lydia worries about Mom.

And so, perhaps 2011 wasn’t made great by the tangible events which transpired…

But rather by the outlook of the one who experienced them.

And that can be carried to any year,

Be it 1949,

Or 2493,

Or even 2012.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “I will carry it with me

Leave a Reply

