On love

While we’re on the subject,

Of just being people,

Can I tell you my heart’s greatest desire?

It is not so very different,

I shouldn’t think,

From that of your own.

I want to be loved.

I want to be loved not for who I was yesterday,

And not for who I could potentially become,

But for who I am right now.

I want to be loved not for what I’ve done,

Not for what I’ve accomplished,

But for who I am.

I want to be loved not despite my quirks,

But, at least, in part,

Because of them.

I want to be loved wholly and deeply,

And not just this part or that part.

I want to be loved,

And that is all.

7 thoughts on “On love

  1. Lovely! Exactly what I desire for my son who also has autism, et. al.! You have a wonderful way with words. I love peeking into your life which helps me to peek into my son’s life somewhat. Thanks for being so open & forthright about how you feel, think, live, etc. I truly appreciate it! Wish I had found your blog in 2009! God bless you in the coming New Year!

  2. I just want to let you know that it is posible to find love I am 28, autistic, have been married for 7 years and I also have a 4 year old daughter. I like your blog I like to here things from another autistic persons point of view. Thanks agian for your posts.

    • Hi Tia, I was actually referring more to love between family and friends more than romantic love. I don’t think that love of the romantic sort is in the cards for me, and I’m okay with that. If it is, okay, and if it’s not, that’s okay too.

  3. I think when we are aware of the special something inside of a person that makes them who they are… the mysterious, eternal, thing that makes each person unique…

    When we recognize that & value it completely, that is love. It isn’t any more complicated than that. I think that’s what you wrote about & I like it very much!

  4. My son who Aspergers is loved by his family and by his friends …he doesn’t seem to focus on that or appreciate. He is always looking for it somewhere else. Part of that is being 16 and thinking that he wants romantic love. I wish that he could love himself enough to feel the love that already surrounds him.

Leave a Reply

