On freedom and such

The other day, a friend asked me if I thought she shouldn’t do something she was really excited about doing… because it was too babyish.  I told her, in my opinion, of course she ought to do it, because it would make her happy, it doesn’t hurt a soul, and it’s a really neat idea!  Though just one of many exchanges in a conversation, this event has stuck with me.  In fact, I carried it with me when I went to Target today and chose to spend my gift cards on Disney Princess bed sheets.  I was just snuggling in them, matter of fact.  (As an aside, one of the four pastors at my church greeted me today with a kiss on my hand and, “Hello, Princess!” and I was totally tickled).

I thought back to the song that played on the radio this morning in the car… it’s a simple song, nothing flashy, but the message is the key:

Through You the blind will see
Through You the mute will sing
Through You the dead will rise
Through You our hearts will praise
Through You the darkness flees
Through You my heart screams I am free
I am free

Through You the kingdom’s come
Through You the battle’s won
Through You I’m not afraid
Through You the price is paid
Through You there’s victory
Because of You my heart screams I am free
I am free

I am free to run
I am free to dance
I am free to live for You
I am free
Yes, I am free

– The Newsboys, I am Free

And isn’t that what it boils down to?  I’m free to sleep on Disney Princess sheets if I want to.  And that’s pretty cool.  But it takes more than one kind of freedom for this to happen.  First, a sort of political freedom must be in place, and thus I must live in a country where a person is allowed to choose such things.  Second, a kind of individual autonomy from my parents and caregivers (which, as a person with autism who has a legal guardian, I know that I am blessed as many people like me don’t get such freedoms) must have happened.  Finally, and most importantly, there is bigger, deeper freedom, one in which I must know how to be true to myself and who God made me to be so that I will allow myself to do what makes me happy rather than trying to place others.  This is the freedom that so many politically free, autonomous adults in this world are missing.  I’m talking about freedom in Christ.

It’s a freedom unlike any other, and one you can’t describe until you’ve experienced it.  It’s the freedom that allows you to dance with glee in public.  It’s the freedom that lets you fall asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow, mind free and clear of all worries.  It’s the joy in a family celebration.  I hope that you get to experience a taste of Christ’s freedom this Christmas.

Merrily yours 🙂

Lydia

 

One thought on “On freedom and such

Leave a Reply

