Rich in spirit

I have a confession to make.  And I could probably get off with no one being the wiser by just not making this confession, but that’s not what I’m all about.

Sometimes, my intentions get jaded.

The blogging gets to be about the comments.

The books get to be about the money.

The advocacy gets to be about myself.

I’ve been a little lost in terms of, what can I do?  I can acknowledge the ill-bred thoughts, but that doesn’t make them go away.

One thing I learned in DBT was “opposite action to current emotion.”  In other words, if you feel like sitting still, move.  If you feel like being quiet, shout.  You get the idea.

The opposite action rule would dictate that, when the blogging gets to be about the accolades?  Turn off the comments.

When the advocacy gets self-centered?  Work on a project for someone else in the autism community… not about, “This is what I need in this world,” but, “This is what this kid needs in this world, so let’s make it happen.”

Someone mentioned buying a book today, and my first thought, I am so ashamed to admit, was $8!  Well, let’s nip that in the bud.  “Give me your address, I’ll send you one.”  I don’t need $8.  My dog is funded.  My bills are paid.  Let’s get back to what this should be about- helping someone to help her child.

 

One thought on “Rich in spirit

Leave a Reply

