All in

I went to church with my upstairs-neighbor today.  It was a small church (say, 100 people at each of the two services), and the pastor and his wife have a teenage son with Asperger’s.  I got to chat with lots of people (“chatting” for me consists of answering direct questions or trying to smile, though often when I think I’m smiling, I don’t look like I am…), including the small group leader and the pastor and his wife.  I was briefly introduced to their son, but, well… as you can imagine, there was “hi” and that was it.  I was overwhelmed by the noise in the room full of people.  He was off to do something else.

Anyhow, the sermon was about the concept of being “all in” for God.  The pastor frequently referenced poker, and explained that there are two distinct reasons why someone would go all in.  They are either desperate or have decided that it’s the best investment they can make, with full confidence.

And I thought about that.

We looked at parts of Psalm 18:

I love you, LORD, my strength.

The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge,
my shield[b] and the horn[c]of my salvation, my stronghold.

I called to the LORD, who is worthy of praise,
and I have been saved from my enemies.
The cords of death entangled me;
the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me.
The cords of the grave coiled around me;
the snares of death confronted me.

In my distress I called to the LORD;
I cried to my God for help.
From his temple he heard my voice;
my cry came before him, into his ears.

He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
he drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
from my foes, who were too strong for me.
They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
but the LORD was my support.
He brought me out into a spacious place;
he rescued me because he delighted in me.

Did you catch that bold part?

I’ve asked that question to myself many times, and I’ve even posed it on here.

Why did you rescue me from the depths in which I lived?

I know when and how… but I was left to wonder why.

And now I know.  He rescued me… because he delighted in me.

So much cooler of a reason than I could have even imagined.

And you know what this means, don’t you?  God delights in you.  In your beauty, in your words, in your relationships.  He delights in all of it.  I hope you bask in that as you sleep tonight and as you go about your day tomorrow, because there’s nothing better.

One thought on “All in

Leave a Reply

