Babies and books

This is kind of embarrassing, but it’s too funny not to share.

I was corresponding with another author about my book, and in one email, she said, “Congratulations on your new baby!”

I froze.  Then I freaked.  Ugh, another memory lapse?  This time I typed something and moments later had no memory of it?  And what was I doing typing about having a baby?!

I apologized for my confusion and explained that no, there are not and would never be any babies here, that not only would taking care of a baby be impossible for me but doing what it takes to get the baby would be impossible on so many levels as well.  So, alas, no babies.

“I meant, congratuations on your new book.”

Me?  Literal?  What makes you say that?

 

Leave a Reply

