What do you do?

Today has been a typing marathon.  I’ve been at my computer for a full eight hours.  That’s a lot even for me!

I field a lot of awkward questions surrounding the work issue.  People mean it harmlessly, but when I say, “I’m not working,” they often follow up with, “Are you in school?” Er, nope.  Then they feel awkward, and I feel annoyed, and it’s no fun all around.

I’ve long been referring to my typing as “my job.”  When I get emails from parents, when I go on forums, when I blog, and people send me kind words, I explain to them that as I don’t work for pay, my typing to all of you is my job, and I take it very seriously.  I spend many hours a day (four, six, maybe eight sometimes) doing this.  There is always someone with a question or a problem, or someone needing another perspective.  I’m a busy girl.

And, you know, I have written and published a book.

And, you don’t know but now I’m telling you, that there will soon be a second.

So from now on, when people say, “What do you do?”

Well, sometimes I blast stereotypes.  And I have changed deep-set opinions.  And I frequently challenge preconceptions.

But really, I write.

2 thoughts on “What do you do?

  1. You do have a job, a writer, and I think you should start telling people that when they ask what you do! You are an amazing writer. Can’t wait for the second book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

