The waiting room

Tick, tock, tick, tock.  I look up at the clock.

Squeeeak, squaaaaak, squeeek.  The door opens.  Those hinges need some grease.

Slam! …and shuts.

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

Hmmmmmmmmmmm, say the lights.  The lights are killing my ears.

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

Grumblegrumble… runnnnnn.  The air conditioner kicks on.

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

“I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT WITH…” I can’t understand that man’s words, but must he speak so loudly?

Hmmmmmmmm.  Then my skin starts to burn.

Sqqueeeeak, squack squeeeeeak.

Slam!

Tick, tock, tick, tock.

ERRRRRCH!  Sliding glass on metal as the window opens so someone can talk to whomever is manning the desk.

I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT….”

Hmmmmmmmm.  If I don’t get out of here soon, I’ll have a full blown migraine.

Tick, tock, tick tock.

 

Me, to therapist: “You know, your waiting room is a sensory nightmare.”

One thought on “The waiting room

  1. Been there done that…. thats why I read and listen to music while I wait.. but I still see the light from florescents buzzing.. so my doc put incandecent lamps in the waiting room and they cancel each other out somehow…

Leave a Reply

